Other Voices, Other Rooms Playlist

It’s time for a weekly dose of Truman Capote! If you haven’t yet, check out the Breakfast at Tiffany’s playlist for some background and context.

Other Voices, Other Rooms was Capote’s first published novel, catapulting him into the spotlight almost overnight. It’s been several years since I’ve read the novel, and it’s long overdue for a re-read, hopefully in the next few weeks.

The famous Harold Halma photograph of Truman Capote included with the book

Below is my friend Nico’s playlist for the novel. His approach deviates slightly from my own. Some passages remind him of a song. If not, he finds one that “fits” the scene.

I love Nico’s playlists because there’s always something different and unexpected about them. Just when I’m getting comfortable, a new genre or sound jumps out at me. Enjoy!

Other Voices, Other Rooms Playlist:

1. God Make Up Your Mind- Cold War Kids

2. Blue Ridge Mountains- Fleet Foxes

3. Come On In My Kitchen- Robert Johnson

4. Peter Pan- Patrick Wolf

5. Sophisticated Lady- Ella Fitzgerald

6. Pavlov’s Daughter- Regina Spektor

7. He Hit Me- Grizzly Bear

A little more on my connection to Other Voices, Other Rooms:

My favorite quote comes from the Other Voices, Other Rooms. The quote is scrawled across pages of my notebooks, written in cursive on the cover of a Moleskine, printed on post-its notes, and even transcribed onto a piece of cardstock that hangs above my bed.

“The brain may take advice, but not the heart, and love, having no geography, knows no boundaries.”

I’m not exactly certain what exactly speaks to me in that line, but I’ve never quite gotten over it. It could be the cadence and rhythm. It could be the content, despite the fact that it contradicts nearly everything I’ve trained myself to do. In a battle between brain and heart, my brain– reason and rationality– will always win. It’s been a long time since I led with the heart. One of my earliest obsessions was geography– boundaries, rivers, lakes, mountain ranges, and capitals. Somehow, disparate things I’ve been fascinated by for years all ended up in the same place.

Comments
2 Responses to “Other Voices, Other Rooms Playlist”
  1. Derek Ouyang says:

    Awesome, I’ll check out the mix.
    My favorite quotes are from Nicole Krauss’s “The History of Love” and her husband Jonathan Safran Foer’s “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.”

    “Once upon a time there was a boy who loved a girl, and her laughter was a question he wanted to spend his whole life answering.” – Krauss

    “Sometimes I can hear my bones straining under the weight of all the lives I’m not living.” – Foer

    • Kaitlin says:

      The History of Love is one of my favorites. I have a couple quotes from the book on my quote list. I loved Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, but I don’t own a copy and it’s been a couple years since I read it. Maybe it’s time to revisit it.

Leave a Reply

