New York and the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

Every year on Thanksgiving, I’ve hurried downstairs to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. I’ve watched from Los Angeles, Atherton, Sedona– and this year– New York. This year, though, I wasn’t warm and comfy on the couch in my pajamas. This year, I watched the parade live.

The parade festivities really began Wednesday. My parents did some research and found that the balloons would be inflated outside the American Museum of Natural History on the Upper West Side. Although we spent four hours exploring the museum, we took frequent breaks outside to see and take photos with the balloons.

Some favorites:

Morgen and me with the Aflac balloon.

The dachshund balloon.

My parents and me with the Macy’s star.

After taking photos with the balloons, we re-entered the museum for a couple hours, keeping tabs on their process from the extensive windows throughout the building. When we next emerged, the official “viewing” of balloons was well underway, making it difficult to exit the area.

Macy’s did provide lots of free (smaller) balloons.

The next morning I woke up fairly early to go to the real parade with my parents. My mom is an avid watcher of the parade each year, so we desperately wanted to see it in person. We watched from a knoll in Central Park with a lovely view of the parade– both balloons and performers– although our proximity to the event didn’t accurately come through in photos.

My parents with the Snoopy balloon in the background.

Me with about half of the Ronald McDonald balloon.

We didn’t stay for the entire parade, since we had to pick up our Thanksgiving dinner (and lunch) from Dean & Deluca uptown. When we got back to the hotel though, I put on my pajamas and watched the tail end of the parade. Then the National Dog Show. Then Miracle on 34th Street, which both celebrates the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and the start of the Christmas season.

Some Thanksgiving traditions remain the same no matter where I am.

Leave a Reply

