Charente: Day 3

We spent our final day in Charente in Angoulême at the Festival International de la Bande Dessinée, otherwise known as the International Festival of Comic Books. Although not a huge fan of comic books or graphic novels myself, I still had a good time.

Pretty much the first thing I did at the festival was take a photo with Asterix and Obelix. I have very fond memories of reading their adventures.

Art Speigelman, author of Maus, was honored and served as head of the jury at this year’s festival. Several exhibits paid homage to his work. My love of all things coffee made me take this photo.

The lower area of Angoulême, which is more industrial. I spent several minutes bemoaning the lack of beauty in Angoulême as we walked from lower to upper Angoulême. Then we arrived in the upper portion, which is the main part of town, and I immediately regretted everything I said.

Unfortunately, I don’t have many photos of upper Angoulême because it was cold and I didn’t want to take off my gloves to unzip my camera from its case.

Frédéric Mitterand (L), minister of culture, and Art Spiegelman (R) not-so-casually conversing at the Art Spiegelman retrospective at the festival.

Beautiful church in upper Angoulême.

After viewing the exhibits, my friends and I walked around the ramparts of the town, then found a cute café run by British transplants. They served café au lait and a warm apple crumble, the perfect end to the weekend.

Leave a Reply

