The Coffee Table

My French writing class met at Café de Flore today to complete an observation exercise. We had the freedom to write about anything we wish: décor, other patrons, people strolling down the street, our food and coffee, whatever other associations we made. Somehow, over the course of 45 minutes, I ended up talking about the photos I take at coffee shops. For several years, I realized I’ve been taking photos of the tables where I sit at coffee shops. These photos always include my cup of coffee– sometimes with fancy latte art– and often my writing notebooks, leisure books, and pens.

I often wax poetic about how much I love coffee shops. Over the past few years, I’ve built a collection of photographs from all over the world. I travel quite a bit. I like coffee shops because they feel familiar. My coffee, notebooks, and reading never change, even when my location does.

It might be a nice project to share photographs of “my coffee table.” I’ll continue taking photos as I travel. Because of the volume of existing photographs, posts will be spaced over the next few days.

Café au lait and beignet, Café du Monde, New Orleans, Louisiana, April 2009

Raspberry Truffle Mocha, Priscilla’s Coffee, Toluca Lake, California, June 2010

Latte and green tea brioche, Urth Caffe, Beverly Hills, California, November 2010

Lavender coffee and scone, Ali’i Kula Lavender Farm, Kula, Hawaii, June 2011

Raspberry Truffle Mocha, Priscilla’s, Toluca Lake, California, August 2011

Black tea and Tartine croissant, Home, Toluca Lake, California, August 2011

Raspberry Truffle Mocha, Priscilla’s, Toluca Lake, California, September 2011

Jasmine tea and snickerdoodle cookie, Open City, Woodley Park, Washington, D.C., September 2011

Café au lait, Tryst, Adams Morgan, Washington, D.C., October 2011

Comments
One Response to “The Coffee Table”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] A continuation of yesterday’s post about the photographs I take while working at coffee shops. If you didn’t read yesterday’s description, please do so now. […]



Leave a Reply

