21 at 21

I didn’t make a list of New Years Resolutions. This was partly for ideological reasons, partly because I just didn’t get it together in time. In any case, my New Years Resolutions rarely ever work, likely because they end up as nebulous, abstract concepts like “wear more hats.” In 2011, I made a list of 23 resolutions. I appeared to jettison it in February.

Part of the reason I don’t make New Years Resolutions is because I find the date arbitrary. I realized that I don’t remember events by year, but rather by the age I was at the time. In that spirit, on my 21st birthday, I decided to start a list of 21 things I wanted to do at age 21.

I had a couple parameters:

1. Goals had to be concrete (2011 New Years Resolution of “drink less coffee, more uncaffeinated tea” wouldn’t count. “Limit cups of coffee to three a week” would.)

2. Goals could not also appear on my bucket list. I wanted these goals to be completely original.

I’m going to share 10 of these 21 goals:

1. Read 40 new books

2. Travel to one new U.S. city, preferably in a new state

3. Finish half the Tartine cookbook

4. Read one book each in Spanish, English, and French

5. Go to the Magic Castle

6. Meet an author I admire

7. Take a road trip with friends

8. Go to at least one bar and one pub

9. Throw a party

10. Keep a journal

Tomorrow, I leave for Marrakech, Morocco, where I’ll be spending the first part of Spring Break. In fewer than 24 hours, I’ll be able to cross item 9 off my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

