Barcelona Day 1

I woke up rather late on my first day in Barcelona after realizing that I should probably enjoy some relaxation during my spring break. I had also gotten in rather late the night before thanks to a couple flight delays.

When I finally made my way outside around 10 AM, it was pouring rain. I’d already decided to walk Passeig de Gracia, just a block and a half from my hotel, and heard that one of the Gaudi houses wasn’t too far away.

Casa Batllo was three blocks from the hotel, and I thought it would provide great refuge from the rain. The artistic significance was, at first, secondary. Then I arrived inside and was blown away.

Mushroom chimney in the study.

Windows.

Living room windows. The Casa Battlo has a water and ocean theme to it.

Ceiling. Reminds me of a mollusk.

I found this reminiscent of a ship.

Views from the stairwell.

Exterior of the house from across Passeig de Gracia.

By the time I finished, the weather had cleared up. I decided to continue my Gaudi tour, since I’d so enjoyed my introduction to his work. A block away, I found La Pedrera, which I didn’t enter. I find Gaudi’s work very tactile, so I took some nice photos of texture. I won’t bore you with the full set.

I continued on to the Sagrada Familia.

Placa de la Sagrada Familia

I spent the next two hours exploring the basilica.

Current entrance facade.

Lavender and Sagrada Familia (for Nana)

Interior inspired by the forest.

The colors are even more vivid in person.

Ceiling

Treetops.

With the nave in the background.

I spent an hour inside. That may be a new record of mine.

Nativity facade.

Me with the nativity facade.

One final photo of the nativity facade.

After the Sagrada Familia, I walked around the area a bit more, then went to Placa Catalunya. I did a bit of shopping, then got some tapas because I was famished. I returned to Passeig de Gracia for dinner tapas.

Comments
One Response to “Barcelona Day 1”
  1. Derek Ouyang says:

    I’M SO JELLY

Leave a Reply

