Dordogne and Provence Trip

Before I head to middle-of-nowhere France on Friday, I’ve decided to catch up on my last trip to the Dordogne and Provence regions, which my parents and I visited in early April.

My dad, travel planner extraordinaire, drove us all around the two regions.

Below are photos, organized by towns visited.

Montbazillac:

Wine tasting.

Chateau de Montbazillac with an ominous sky.

Frolicking.

Beynac:

I have trouble believing this is real.

Sarlat:

Saturday market.

Mirlandes:

Josephine Baker’s former chateau.

Castelnaud:

I thought princess waves were appropriate. This photos also illustrates my love of standing atop things I shouldn’t be. This would later get me into trouble.

Domme:

A foggy morning overlooking the valley.

Albi:

Gardens of the Toulouse-Lautrec museum.

Albi cathedral.

Carcassonne:

Cassoulet in its native city.

Fortress walls at night.

Les Baux:

Best views in Provence.

I ignored the “danger” sign and climbed to the top. Two minutes after this photo was taken, I slipped, fell, and hit the back of my head on a rock. The bump is just now going away.

Pont du Gard:

Mom and Dad were last there 25 years ago.

Orange:

The only Roman theatre in Europe with an extant stage wall.

Vaison-la-Romaine:

Adorable upper town.

The perfect Provencal town.

Avignon:

The dinner of many wines. And almost as many sing-alongs.

With Pont d’Avignon barely visible in the background.

Place de l’Horloge

Outside Lyon:

Trompe l’oeil ceiling.

The secondary buildings of my host family’s chateau.

I need to stop there because I can’t go further without hyperventilating slightly.

Miss you, Mom and Dad!

Leave a Reply

