October Books

This post is a bit overdue now that a week of October has passed. Nevertheless, October looks like a great month for books. Fall is the busiest time in the publishing world; this season always releases the books I most anticipate.

Here are a few of the books released this month I’m most looking forward to reading.

offerman-book-full1-677x1024

1. Paddle Your Own Canoe (Oct. 1)- Nick Offerman. To be fair, I read an ARC (Advanced Review Copy) of this a couple months ago. Parks and Recreation is one of my favorite TV shows, and Nick Offerman steals nearly every scene. After finishing this book, I’ve decided I like Nick Offerman more than Ron Swanson– which is saying a lot. Through my work I had the opportunity to attend his reading/performance at the Union Square Barnes and Noble. Over 500 people showed up. I expect this to be one of the standouts of this year. (P.S. According to Amazon, it’s the #1 Bestseller in “Men’s Gender Studies,” which I wasn’t aware was even a category.)

51Awc4wLoqL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

2. Hyperbole and a Half (Oct. 29)- Allie Brosh. I’m going to get the books I’ve already read out of the way. Allie Brosh pens the phenomenally funny (and popular!) blog Hyperbole and a Half. The book contains seven reader-favorite comics, and ten new stories. I’d only seen a few of her blog posts, but was completely wowed by the book. Allie is hilarious, neurotic, and completely relatable. In addition, the book is gorgeous. I haven’t stopped talking about it since I saw the finished result. I don’t want to ruin anything, but the current Amazon image does not do it justice. If you’re a fan of the blog (or new to it like me), the book is a must-read. 

Altered_FINAL_CVR

 

3. Altered (Oct. 29)- Gennifer Albin. I enjoyed reading Crewel last year, so I’m looking forward to the next installment of the series. I’m not big on sci-fi or YA, but somehow this seemed to capture my attention. Smart, vibrant, and ambitious– I’m curious to see where this goes.

OB-XP895_davida_JV_20130527233557

 

4. David and Goliath (Oct. 1)- Malcolm Gladwell. This is the most excited I’ve been about Malcolm Gladwell since finishing Outliers. I’ve had some complicated reactions to him in the past, but this sounds great.

61PBkLX33vL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

5.  Humans of New York (Oct. 15)- Brandon Stanton. I can’t get enough of Humans of New York. If you’re not already familiar, check it out here.

 

I’m sure I’ve already forgotten several books I plan to read. More to come should I remember!

Comments
3 Responses to “October Books”
  1. Jean Reisman says:

    Kaitlin, The new books look VERY interesting! Jean

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    Wow– I didn’t know the Hyperbole and a Half book was coming out this month… I’ve been following the launch of the HONY book on facebook, how interesting that both blog-to-book’s are being released in the same month.

    Also, the Malcolm Gladwell books is definitely on my list… great post!

Leave a Reply

