Jewels by JAR Exhibit

Today I went to see the Jewels by JAR exhibit at The Met, which opened in late November. JAR stands for Joel A. Rosenthal, a jeweler who has worked in Paris for the last 40+ years. The exhibit at The Met represents his first retrospective in the United States.

I’ve always loved jewelry, a trait inherited from my grandmother. I’ve been to a fair number of jewelry exhibits around the U.S. and Europe. This one, though, blew me away. The incredible craftsmanship, quality of stones and minerals, and artistic originality was astounding and inspiring. If you’re in New York before March 9 (my birthday!), I would highly suggest stopping by The Met.

christies_lily_safra_a-diamond_-pink-and-green-tourmaline-poppy-flower-brooch

One of the pieces on display: Poppy Brooch, 1982— diamonds, tourmalines, gold

Leave a Reply

